You are here

2018 SPSP Award Recipients Announced

SPSP Announcements logo

SPSP Announces Annual Award Winners

The Society of Personality and Social Psychology has announced winners in its annual Awards of Excellence program. The winners below will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual convention in Portland, February 7, 2019.

Jack Block Award for Distinguished Research in Personality
Laura A. King, University of Missouri

Donald T. Campbell Award
Eliot Smith, Indiana University, Bloomington

Career Contribution Award
William Swann, University of Texas; Naomi Ellemers, Utrecht University

Distinguished Scholar Award
Craig Anderson, Iowa State University

Methodological Innovator Award
Elaine Hatfield, University of Hawaii

Application of Personality and Social Psychology Award
Daphna Oyserman, University of Southern California

Nalini Ambady Award For Mentoring Excellence
Dacher Keltner, University of California, Berkeley

Carol and Ed Diener Award in Personality Psychology
Sonja Lyubomirsky, University of California, Riverside

Carol and Ed Diener Award in Social Psychology
Shigehiro Oishi, Columbia University

Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Award
Neil Lutsky, Carleton College

Robert B. Cialdini Prize For Contributions in Field Research in Social Psychology

Language from police body camera footage shows racial disparities in officer respect
Rob Voigt, Nicholas P. Camp, Vinodkumar Prabhakaran, William L. Hamilton, Rebecca C. Hetey, Camilla M. Griffiths, David Jurgens, Dan Jurafsky, and Jennifer L. Eberhardt

Daniel M. Wegner Theoretical Innovation Prize

• "Beyond Sacrificial Harm: A Two-Dimensional Model of Utilitarian Psychology"
Guy Kahane, Jim A.C. Everett, Brian D. Earp, Lucius Caviola, Nadira S. Faber, Molly J. Crockett, and Julian Savulescu

• "State authenticity as fit to environment: The implications of social identity for fit, authenticity and self-segregation"
Toni Schmader, Constantine Sedikides

Book Prize for The Promotion of Social and Personality Science
Abigail Marsh, Georgetown University, for The Fear Factor

Media Award for Excellence in Science Journalism
James Ryerson, The New York Times

Award for Distinguished Service to the Society
Stephanie Fryberg, University of Washington

Award for Distinguished Service on Behalf of Social and Personality Psychology
Dave Nussbaum, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Student Publication Prize
Frederick Clavel, Iowa State University; Bruce Dor
é, University of Pennsylvania; David March, University of Tennessee; Amit Goldenberg, Stanford University & Kinneret Endevelt and Feng Bai, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

SAGE Young Scholars Awards
Pending this fall. Apply today.

Heritage Dissertation Research Awards
Pending this fall. Apply today.


Announcement Categories: 
Sidebar Items: 
Sidebar: Convention